I Am…

I Am…

This past fall I was asked to write about myself.  The prompt was as simple as “Tell us who you are”.  Currently I am in graduate school pursuing my Master’s in Higher Education Administration so I do a lot of writing about research and advising and a few reflection pieces here and there.  But most of my writing consists of citing other peoples work rather than writing about me personally.  The open ended prompt, to any fan of writing would appear as gold or at least for me and my style of writing it is like a dream come true.  I saw this piece and knew I could go anywhere with it.  Plus, I love telling my story because I think my experiences kind of make me the cats meow.

However, after I started writing I found a common theme.  I write repetitive openings such as, I am…  I am…. I am… and occasionally throw in a few adjectives and jokes.  I like the flow it gives off when reading a piece that has one topic.  I imagined it as a long poem.  Regardless, I wrote a page and it was fun!  Self reflection pieces are one of my favorite types of writing.  I am a thinker and of course my favorite subject is myself.  Now, don’t get me wrong I am not a narcissist, I think about all aspects of life regarding traveling, personal favorites, growing as an individual, animals, etc. and I just happen to be the constant in each of those thoughts.  I like to think I am an individual who is open to all possibilities in the sense that I acknowledge that I am always wondering and progressing in my own evolution.

Rereading this piece, most of my I am statement have been true for the past 8 years.  These are the cornerstones to who I am so I am not sure if these will change but I will revisit this prompt at the end of this school year or wherever seems appropriate. I propose the same prompt to you, sit down and write about yourself, put some pen to paper or finger tips to keyboard and write away.  Wherever your mind goes, let it.  Life is a journey as they say, so here goes…

” I am a caring, loving accidentally occasionally ungrateful daughter and a sarcastic, considerate, younger sister. I am a friend, the funny friend that everyone adores, at least I like to think so. I am Italian and Armenian but take more pride in my Italian side. I am an athlete BUT one who did not play high school sports and feels strongly about how politically influenced they are. I am an animal lover that dreams to own a ranch one day with all the animals I could ever dream of. I am a proud mom to 2 cats and 1 goober of a dog. I am a lover of the color silver but that changes weekly, at the moment I am a fan of red. I am a friend of strangers; I am a listening ear and a shoulder to rest on. I am a thinker; I am a dreamer and occasionally a daydreamer. I am a girl who may think too much about boys, my puppy at home, the next cool picture I can Instagram, the flowers that may be at my wedding, what I’m going to eat next, when I can change my hair style again, and what my future will look like. I am a fan of laughing, smiling and being happy. I am an extrovert externally but an introvert in reality. I am a homebody but I love to be spontaneous and explore. I am a tomboy who loves playing with makeup and experimenting with my hair. I am not a big candy eater but I am a feen for Watermelon Sour Patches. I am super late with scheduling my fillings at the dentist. I am an avid Netflix/Amazon Prime watcher. I am a fan of many, many, many TV shows that include FRIENDS, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Charmed, One Tree Hill, Sons of Anarchy, Grey’s Anatomy, Awkward., Hey Arnold, Dexter, Suits, Vampire Diaries, and many, many more. I am a sob for cheesy chick flicks and romance movies but love a good action scene with cars or guns. I am a lover of country music, 90’s pop, classic Celine Dion and Faith Hill and of course some Eminem and Lil Wayne. I am a beer drinker, Oreo dunker, and ice cream in a coffee mug eater. I am Summer baby who loves the sun and water as proven at my baptism when I tried to drink my oh so blessed bath.   I am a passionate learner when it comes to diversity and social justice. I am a kind heart with a sensitive interior yet I am a portrayer of a tough gal. I am a wannabe Betty Crocker but more so Martha Stewart whose goals include hosting family holiday dinners. I am obsessed with Pinning different nail styles, amazing outfits that aren’t my style, recipes, festive fun and hysterically awesome ECards. I am clueless when it comes to accessorizing but wishes I had every outfit on said Pinterest. I am confident that I will make a better adult then I do a student. I am confident that when this semester is over I plan on having a few drinks too many and again when this year is over repeatedly. I am a somewhat experienced road tripper—Tennessee, Alabama, Florida (multiple times) North Carolina, and Maryland just to name a few.   I am planning on building that list and getting cross-country one day. I am a hopeful traveler, suffering from Wanderlust. I am a long over deprived fan of theatre meaning I received the lead role in my 8th grade play but quit because I was afraid I wouldn’t remember my lines and haven’t returned to the stage since. I am striving to be a good parent one day and to raise my child similarly to how my parents raised me (I think I turned out ok). I am saddened by the fact that not everyone is considerate of others. I am learning to accept the fact that I can not control everything. I am currently struggling with what direction I want to go in after graduation. I am learning I need to do things that may make me uncomfortable in order to grow as a person. I am hopeful that I will make a difference in peoples lives regardless of what I do. I am a lot of things. I am a firm believer that the little things are the important things.”

8d979a2dbf65c7c9ffacbd18b68832d5

Leave a Reply

